DES Professor awarded 2018 TWAS Prize

Tectonics | January 15, 2018

Professor Guochun Zhao conducting fieldwork on Wuyi Mountain, Fujian Province in January 2018.

It is our great pleasure to announce that Professor Guochun Zhao has been awarded the 2018 The World Academy of Science (TWAS) Prize in Earth, Astronomy and Space Sciences. Prof. Zhou's prize was awarded for his contributions to our understanding of continental collisional tectonics in Earth’s early history and the assembly of the supercontinent Columbia (Nuna) ~1.8 billion years ago. We are especially pleased that Professor Zhao is the first Hong Kong scholar to be chosen for this specific award. Professor Zhao is greatly honoured to be receive his prize and said: “This award will not only be a great motivation as I pursue my future research goals, but will also inspire my students and show them that hard work does get rewarded.”

The TWAS Prize is awarded in nine fields: Agricultural Sciences, Biology, Chemistry, Earth Sciences, Engineering Sciences, Mathematics, Medical Sciences, Physics, and Social Sciences. Prof. Zhou is joined by 11 other prize winners, including three from China, two from Brazil, two from India as well as awardees from Argentina, Kenya, Mexico, South Africa and Turkey. Each TWAS Prize carries a cash award of USD15,000 and awardees will present their research at TWAS's 28th General Meeting in 2018. 

Congratulations Prof. Zhao!

For more information the University's press release can be found here

Select media coverage (in Chinese):
Wen Wei Po (文匯報)
Ming Pao (明報)
HK Commercial Daily (香港商報)
Ta Kung Pao (大公報)